Millions of historical and contemporary news photographs with thousands more added daily. Includes a collection of graphics containing logos, maps, and timelines, as well as audio clips and news stories.
Image database featuring a range of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Collections have been contributed by leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. Easier access to more than 4.5 million 2D and 3D digital items from their collections—with many more to come.
Digital video streaming collection of films for arts education and arts practitioners. Includes films produced by Contemporary Arts Media as well as independent artists, film producers, and arts organizations.
Streaming documentaries, feature films, shorts, and more. Includes films from The Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Michael Blackwood, Kino Lorber and many more.
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text access for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and periodicals, among other materials. Covers science, social sciences, mathematics, engineering, and many other subjects.
A resource for research into the history of modern design and the applied arts consisting of three linked databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR), Design ProFILES (DP), and ReVIEW. Formerly Arts: Search.
Cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more covering the global history, theory, and practice of crafts and design.
Contains Berg Fashion Library, which provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary text and image content on world dress and fashion. Includes e-books, reference works, images, and more.
Digital catalogue raisonnés, comprehensive and annotated compilations of all known works by an artist. These works also contain videos and digital archives.
International index to articles in hundreds of design and craft journals. Also contains data on designers, craftspeople, studios, schools, workshops, and firms.
A global trend forecasting agency focused on the industries of fashion, interior design, and wellness. A personal account, using your VCU email, is required to use the CREATE area or save content.
Comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of journal articles and books covering the spectrum of television and film. Covers areas such as film and television theory, preservation and restoration, cinematography, and more.
Indexing and abstracts for articles, essays, reviews, and original creative works in all aspects of the humanities, with full-text for select journal articles, books, and other materials. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index.
With works ranging from apostolic times to the 16th century, the Index of Medieval Art documents art found in a broadly-defined medieval context. This expansive archive contains images and full-text records.
Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art, covering European art since late antiquity, American art since the colonial era, and global art since 1945. Indexes international journals, monographs, exhibition catalogues, and more.
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (Backfiles end typically 3 - 6 years prior to the current date).
Library Stack is an online archive of digital arts publications from the fields of contemporary art, graphic design, architecture, film and philosophy. Library Stack draws from diverse global platforms, and has a particular focus on hybrid works.
Extensive, comprehensive collection of innovative materials and processes, organized into polymers, cement-based materials, glass, metals, ceramics, natural materials, and carbon-based materials. Resource for designers of all disciplines.
Database of peer-reviewed academic journals and electronic books in the humanities and social sciences from university presses and scholarly societies around the world.
Image-rich primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. It presents a portrait of its era through photographs, articles, and advertisements. Contains every page of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present.
Authoritative scholarly eBooks by academic and museum publishers as well as unique peer-reviewed content, covering art history, architecture, decorative art, photography, and design. Includes searchable images along with supplemental audio and video.
